PaintBrush Studio Blog Hop- Due North Block

2016 Paintbrush Studio New Block Blog Hop

Things have been pretty quiet around here lately. This school year has effectively kicked my butt. One day, when it is over, I will feel comfortable talking about it. Right now I am struggling to remain positive and struggling to walk through the door every day. Only 39 more days.

Big changes are coming our way (job changes, moving etc.), and it has been hard to find time to quilt. But when I got the email about doing the Fabri-Quilt Paintbrush Studio’s Blog Hop again, I just knew it was the little ray of positivity I needed to get me back in the quilting swing.

So with out further ado… or complaining by me… I introduce to you Due North.

DueNorth

I am not going to lie… I was a little taken aback by the traditional colors of this years inspiration, but when I saw the colors related to a beachy sunset, oh man, I was sold.

Being the beach lover I am, I went through days upon days of figuring out what I was going to make. Then I decided to leave the beach idea and go for a nautical idea. You see, we have this sea floor/shipwreck decor idea going on in our guest bathroom. One day we were out looking at decor and I found this really cool compass picture. We didn’t buy it, but I was inspired.

Because I am a sucker for foundation piecing, I made yet another foundation pieced block (kill me… I know). I used the same freezer paper technique from last year, and whipped this up in no time. If my PDF writer did decide to schitz out (Is anyone else using a Mac having a problem with EQ7 and PDFwriter? If so call me. We can cry together.), I would show you a cool layout I made, but alas, it’s a no go. Another time another blog.

I really hope you love this block as much as I do. You can get the pattern and cutting instructions here or by clicking the picture above.

Also, check out the other talented bloggers and their blocks. I have been looking at yesterdays and drooling. I can’t wait to see what these lovely ladies dreamed up.

Host: Cheryl @Meadow Mist Designs

Kim @Leland Ave Studios

Andrea @The Sewing Fools

Cassandra @The (not so) Dramatic Life

Stephanie @Quilt’n Party

Irene @Patchwork and Pastry

Tish @Tish’s Adventures in Wonderland

Abby @Hashtag Quilt

Sarah @Smiles Too Loudly

Carrie @The Zen Quilter

Wanda @Wanda’s Life Sampler

Jayne @Twiggy and Opal

31 thoughts on “PaintBrush Studio Blog Hop- Due North Block

  1. Kim S. says:

    Great block — I totally got the nautical vibe as soon as I saw it! Good luck with all of the changes coming your way. We are finally settling down after a big move, so I know how it is when sewing falls by the wayside. But the good thing is, it, and we, will all be here when you have the time to get back to it! 🙂

    Like

  2. seamstobesew says:

    Love your block, I don’t know anything about Macs, but you could try finding a different pdf writer for the mac, there are so many on the internet that are free, it’d be a shame if none worked with macs also.

    Like

  3. Paula S. Pike says:

    Thank you for this great design. My other half is a master carpenter and intends to make a mariner’s clock, I think this would be a really incredible pillow top for me to give him as a surprise.

    Remember to smile, it makes people wonder what you’ve been doing.

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    Abby! I have EQ7 and I am also having SO much trouble printing a PDF. Have you resolved it or found a workaround (other than printing and rescanning)? If not, I’m not giving up and when I find a solution I will let you know! 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

