New Quilt Bloggers 2015 Blog Hop

2015 New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop:

I honestly can’t remember if I mentioned the fact that I am participating the 2015 New Quilt Bloggers Blog Hop. I have also hit the point in the summer where I need to check my phone to see what day of the week it is. Can you say #teachersummerproblems?

I am so excited to be apart of this fantastic group of bloggers. They are amazingly sweet, kind and talented. I am excited to share with you today a little about myself today.

Me:

304501_10151201537766535_1061093069_n

My name is Abby, and I live in Fort Worth, Texas. I am going to warn you now that I have a dry sense of humor, and sometimes I feel my writing can be abrasive. I apologize for that. Not really though because it is who I am.

As I mentioned, I am a teacher. I am starting a new job next school year teaching a communications class for children with Autism. I am pretty excited but mostly nervous.

970151_10151785962541535_1501514575_n

I am married to a man that does not read this blog. His name is David and maybe one day we can talk about why you read this, but he doesn’t. We met when I was 15 and he was 16. We started dating when I was 19 and he was 20. We got married when I was 22 and he was 23. Yesterday was our 2 year anniversary, and I still kind of like him.

History:

I learned my foundational quilt skills when I was 18 years old. Then I let them sit in my head for the next 5 years getting fat and lazy. I never actually made a quilt after learning the skills from my best friend’s very patient mother. I basically said “That’s nice” and skipped away.

Then right before I moved in with my husband, I dropped my sewing machine packing it and it was beyond repairable. I just shrugged it off. Flash forward 5 months. It’s my birthday and David still can’t believe the domestic goddess he is married to doesn’t have a sewing machine. He suggests I get one for my birthday. I wish I had been on a video call with my mother in law when I told her David bought me a sewing machine. She was not initially pleased.

That summer I started quilting and I never looked back. I finished my first quilt that summer.

10492259_10152632196691535_3255000544915890559_n

I then made plenty of quilts for other people. Some I got pictures of and some not so much.

IMG_0659

I started this blog as a means to document a journey. I don’t know where it’s going, but it’s nice to remember what happened along the way.

IMG_0738

Quilt Tips:

Get out of your head. I spend a lot of time internalizing silly conflicts. It’s such a waste of time. Sometimes you just need to go with your first instinct.

IMG_1178

It’s okay to not like what you are working on. Just walk away. You will be friends again soon.

“Finished is better than perfect” -Angela Walters

Final Trivia

I am a middle child.

I have two sisters

I’ve been to Dubai

My favorite color is purple

I am 24 in braces. The big old metal kind that make me look like a 12 year old girl.

I am a fan of anything Disney, Harry Potter, Mary Blaire, brightly covered, covered in glitter, and made of chocolate.

Question:

If you could eat one thing for the rest of your life what would it be?

Check out some of my fellow blogger sharing today:

Shelley @ http://thecarpentersdaughterwhoquilts.com/

Mary @ http://quiltingisinmyblood.com

Megan @ www.sewstitchingcutequilts.com

29 thoughts on “New Quilt Bloggers 2015 Blog Hop

  1. Wanda Ann Dotson says:

    I’d eat key lime pie. I just love the mixture of sweet and tart. I’d love to get out of my head — but I overthink every thing. By the way, I’m the middle child, too –older sister, younger brother. From your wedding photo, I can tell you have a sophisticated style. I look forward to seeing where you go with your quilting journey.

    Like

  2. Cassandra says:

    I love the block you are working on with the black and white background and shards of color. It’s gorgeous! I really love that you seem to keep an authentic voice in your posts which matches your vibrant quilting style. And I think I would have to go with pizza.

    Like

  3. Eleanor says:

    If I could eat one thing for the rest of my life, it would have to be a specially concocted combination of raspberries, lemon and chocolate. Yum!

    I love the different types of quilts and fabrics you’ve used! I really like the last quilt – the quirky background fabrics are fab!

    Like

  4. Smiles Too Loudly says:

    Popcorn, definitely popcorn. My MIL gave me an air popper for Christmas, and its seriously the first present in 9 years I haven’t wanted to return. 😀 But it’s soooo good. A little butter, a little popcorn salt and I would be a happy camper for life. 😀 I love that flamingo quilt — very cute! And don’t feel bad about the braces. If you listen to my dentist, I’ll be getting them on my 30th birthday (2 years from now). Which would seriously impact the popcorn eating….

    Like

  5. Yvonne @Quilting Jetgirl says:

    If I could eat one thing for the rest of my life? Tacos! I love them! ❤

    I really love Angela's advice that finished is better than perfect… I also love that she reminds us that we are doing our best work now and to be kind to ourselves and remember that when we look back at older work. It was our best work and we should embrace it always. 🙂

    Like

  6. RuthB says:

    Chips, chunky chips with lashings of vinegar (not french fries, proper thick cut potatoes!)
    Great to read about you and your blog. My guy doesn’t read my blog either!

    Like

  7. Anne Beier says:

    I would eat oreo cookie coconut ice cream. My husband doesn’t read my blog either. I wish he would. He does read the articles I write for “Make Modern” magazine, so that’s something.

    I enjoyed reading your blog. I was a part of last year’s new quilt blogger blog hop. You did a great job. I love your wedding photo, (congratulations on your anniversary!!), and your quilts.

    My blog started as a journey too – my mom was very sick, and it was a great distraction. She did get a chance to see it on my phone before she passed away. My mom was very proud of it, and that I had five children’s books published. So in her honor, I will not drop my blog.

    Before you know it, quilting and blogging will become so a part of your every day life. Good luck. And I am so happy to meet you. BTW – I was in Ft. Worth not that long ago. What a lovely city.

    Like

  8. Carole says:

    I’d eat fried chicken every day, and chocolate too! Don’t give up on your hubby, mine got curious and started reading my blog, now after 38 years of marriage he is just finding out what I do when he isn’t around. He is more impressed than he wanted to be, LOL!!

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    Hi I’m visiting you from sewcial swarm where I posted today. It’s nice to read about you. I definately need the advice that done is better than perfect as I often stall in the process usually before quilting. I love your quilts…very colourful. If I could eat one thing for ever it might have to be raspberries…but it might have to be fresh figs. I can’t decide.

    Like

  10. Lorna McMahon says:

    Hi Abby! First of all I want to say that I love your blog name… So perfect! It’s nice to meet you! Love your brightly coloured quilts. I am also a big fan of solids and brights. If I could eat one thing for the rest of my life… Again, I’d go with solids.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jane @ Jolly and Delilah says:

    Hi Abby! Wishing you all the best as you prepare to start at the new school.

    So, this one food, is it just that it would be always available to me, or would it be that I would only eat that? It’s really tough either way. Does tea count? It’s just something that doesn’t seem to be much appreciated these days, although things are improving, and I no longer have to import it myself. I usually drink several cups a day, and don’t go without it unless I’m very unwell.

    I understand how you feel about the way you come across on your blog. I feel the same way about mine. I wish I could be more relatable, but I think I spent far too much time trying to become an academic before I decided to become an artist.

    Like

  12. Kim S. says:

    Hi Abby! Great post, it was so fun getting to know you! I really love that diamond patterned block that you are working on. It’s going to be gorgeous when it’s finished, though it seems like a ton of work! As for a food I could live on forever more, it probably would have to be pizza. I’d be extra excited if I could change up the toppings from time to time, but even if I could only pick plain, it would probably be okay.

    Like

  13. Susan says:

    Best of luck with your new teaching position. I’m a retired elementary teacher, and I loved living that career for my whole life. Now I’m in another phase, and have some of the time I thought I’d have for quilting! I think your quilts are great, and so is your advice. I’d add, “Your friends are not always right.” LOL Any food? Easier to say what I wouldn’t eat – fish, mushrooms and blueberries! Just one thing, no health considerations, probably have to be dark chocolate, but not from Belgium – or I could go with Key Lime Pie, like your first commenter!

    Like

  14. Jayne says:

    Nice to meet you Abby! Your quilts are beautiful! I doubt that when I was 18 I would have been so obsessed with quilting…gotta wait for the right time! I would eat avacados for the rest of my life!!

    Like

  15. bkringel says:

    I don’t think you are abrasive… Just funny. Loved your intro post and the pictures of your quilts. So hard to pick just one food…. I do love eggplant but there are only so many ways to fix it. Popcorn is another favorite…. Looking forward to reading more of your posts!

    Like

  16. Carrie Ottmers Wikander says:

    Hi Abby, nice to cyber meet you. I too love Harry Potter. I love your quilty style – bright colors. And I know where your journey is taking you – somewhere fun and challenging and awesome! I can’t really pick one food cuz I love so many, but no matter how hard I try, I don’t think I could live entirely without cheese. I do cut back on it, but I cannot give it up completely no matter what.

    Like

  17. Silvia Sutters says:

    Thanks for sharing a little bit of you. Sometimes we really need to let things sit in our brain. For many years people asked me if I quilted, and I always strayed away from it until I was ready. Now, for the food, I would say Chocolate Croissant – It’s bread, it’s chocolate, it’s the best of both worlds. 🙂

    Like

  18. Wendy says:

    My husband doesn’t read my blog either. He knows that I blog, but I’m not convinced he really knows what that means! You’ve made some lovely quilts, I love the block with the rhombuses.

    Like

  19. Helen says:

    Firstly , good luck with the new job . It was great to meet you , it was my turn last week . I love that Angela Walters expression and use it lots , finished is better than perfect . My finishes are never perfect and in fact rarely finished . And I love potatoes , fried , boiled , roasted , mashed , potato bread , I could go on

    Like

  20. Sarah Goer says:

    I just love the bright colors in the first and last projects that you shared. If I were to only eat one food, I’d pick chicken, since there’s a lot you can do with it. I’ve really tried to embrace “better done than perfect” in the last year or so. It really helps in finishing up old WIPs.

    Like

  21. Shelley Folkerts says:

    Hi Abby, great to meet you. I really like your black and white prints with the solids project that you are working on. Best of luck on your new teaching position. I love coffee and would have a hard time giving it up. My one food would be some variety of homemade bread. It about did me in the one time I tried the Atkins diet. I actually dreamed about eating bread. I look forward to reading more of your blog posts.

    Like

  22. Quilting is in my Blood says:

    Hi Abby, I love that quilt top you have on the bed. The colors are so vibrant. I would probably eat salmon. I like your advice about walking away from projects we’re not liking so much. For me, I have to walk away when I get tired, or I can guarantee I’ll be getting out the seam ripper 🙂

    Like

  23. Cristy says:

    I would eat Pho noodle soup forever…my parents would make it all the time and I have yet to find a place where I live now (we are in different states) that would be remotely close to it. I’ve tried making it myself, but that takes away from the nostalgia of having a bowl set in front of me 😉 Love your last quilt…the bright colors against the black and white are gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

