Summer Break Week 1

I have been sooooooooo lazy this week.

I mean, I have managed to get up and dressed every morning (notice I said morning not afternoon), but my sitting on the couch time has vastly increased compared to last week.

I have mostly spent this week preparing for a trip I am taking next week with my mom. You’d think the preparation for a 24 year old going to Disney World would be basically nothing, however; that is not the case. If anyone needs me next week, I will be in the kitchen cooking freezer meals for David.

I did manage to get Geometric Ripples a quarter of the way done.

IMG_1140

I still don’t know how I am going to quilt it, but I want it done before winter comes this year.

Other than that I basically did nothing all week until 12pm Friday afternoon. I had been cleaning out some supplies in my sewing area and found some paper rhombus cutouts. While I sat on the couch eating my lunch, I was hit with inspiration. I spent the next 9 hours making rhombus appliques. THEN I spent the first 4 hours of the next day making this:

IMG_1154

Now I know I want to do this Quilt as You Go, but I can’t decide if I want to keep it the size it is and make a mini, or use this as the center of a medallion quilt.

What do you think I should do?

6 thoughts on “Summer Break Week 1

  1. Jolly and Delilah says:

    That’s a tough question. It’s gorgeous, and would work well either way. Have you had any thoughts about what to put around it of you make a medallion quilt? That would be the deciding factor for me. Personally, I love quilts as wall art and am all for the mini, but practical quilts are, well, practical.

    Like

  2. Kim S. says:

    Hmmmm. It’s really pretty! I think I would vote for a mini, only because I think it is special as-is, and I’d be worried that the layers of the medallion quilt could potentially get busy and detract from the center. But I’m sure whatever you decide will be lovely! The Geometric Ripples quilt is looking great, too!

    Like

  3. Sandra says:

    That Geometric ripples just is knock your socks off beautiful Abby! Like seriously wow and whoa. Reminds me of JayBird quilts. Love your toes peeking into the pic too! Um, more wow on the rhombus quilt you whipped up… I’ve never seen anything like this! Thanks for putting your blog address in your comment so I can find you…Don’t tell me (yet) any grievances about Call the M. But I will try to catch up now my week is done for the hop and Cheryl’s quilt pattern is done! Then we will talk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

